Dear Philadelphia

Every Thursday afternoon, I have class on the tenth floor of a building that could pass as a Soviet housing unit (tall and ugly). From this tenth floor perch, however, one gets an impressive view of the Melbourne skyline and the suburban hills. As I sit in this rather uninspiring class, I sit and think about Melbourne. How do I really feel about this city?

Melbourne makes all the best lists. Most livable. Safest. Most vibrant art scene. Best food. Come up with a positive superlative and Melbourne has probably claimed it. By all observations and statistics, I can say with confidence that these rankings are well deserved: Melbourne is a great place.

But what personal relationship do I have with Melbourne? I tend to think of how people feel about places as similar in many ways to how they feel about humans. Being attracted to a city is like being attracted to another human. It’s subject to very complex and uncontrollable emotions.

Using this perspective, Melbourne is really attractive to most people. It’s the kind of stuff that would make the cover of Sports Illustrated. Melbourne has six pack abs, stunning facial features, a nice tan, and always says the right thing at the right time. Melbourne is hot!

Still sitting in my classroom, I then begin to think about other cities in my life. My relationship with Alexandria and Washington is pretty clearly defined: deep, unalienable love and connection. They are both fantastic places to call home. After all these thoughts, I have only one city in my life left to contemplate: Philadelphia.

This is where it gets more complicated.

If Melbourne has a six-pack, Philadelphia has a beer belly. You remember those city rankings that Melbourne tends to top? Philly tends to be toward the bottom. Most Australians I’ve talked to see it as more of a “stop over city” between Washington and New York. “Isn’t it a little slow, very dirty and dangerous?  Doesn’t Ben Franklin come from there?” are common questions. Up until recently, I had been agreeing. Yes dirty. Yes dangerous. Yes Ben Franklin. Yes it’s a dump.

But then, as I sat in my class staring at Melbourne’s ever-expanding skyline, I felt a tug in my heart. I felt a feeling of disappointment, like I had trash talked an old, reliable friend. I have been unfair to Philadelphia.

Sure, I will always be a native Alexandrian and Washingtonian. Alexandria is practically hallowed ground for me. But Philadelphia has become an integral part of my identity. It is unfair to discount it just because it isn’t as shiny or perfect as Melbourne.

We all know Philadelphia has tremendous social, political and economic issues. Looking at Philadelphia’s statistics can be very depressing. But I think Melbourne has taught me an important lesson: Great statistics don’t mean you’ll automatically fall in love with a place (In the same sense intense physical attraction between two humans won’t guarantee lasting attraction or love).

I know this because I’ve fallen in love with a place that has abysmal statistics. I will never live to see the day that Philadelphia is ranked as the most livable place on Earth by the Economist. But I do personally think Philly is a winner in the following categories:

1)   Best Place to Have an Inspiring Internship at the Mayor’s Office that Helps Me Understand the Modern American Political Landscape.

I have a hard time thinking of a more rewarding experience in my lifetime. I am so grateful to the Mayor’s Office.

2)   Best Place to Have a (Cheap) Great Time With Friends

No one does cheap beer and food like Philly.

3)   Best Place to Take Nothing For Granted

In Philadelphia, it’s probably a safe bet that no one is going to clean your street every night like they do here in Melbourne. It’s a place where the City and the people have to work hard for everything. Nothing is given. It is a struggle. But amid the struggle, success seems even sweeter.

4)   Philly Culture

Philly is a place where culture is both created and imported. There is a very distinct Philly culture, from the Quakers and Amish, to the Eagles and “Steaks Wit or Wit Out.” It’s hard to describe, but Philly has a very distinct and proud culture. It is also home to hundreds of thousands of immigrants.

5)   Haverford and other Philly Colleges and Universities

Part of this feeling for Philly is also a feeling for Haverford. I miss it. Melbourne Uni is not the most academic of places. I do more academic study in a week at Haverford than I’ve done since I arrived at Melbourne Uni. While I often curse the workload at Haverford (it really does get out of control), I miss a sense of engagement in academic work. Not having some sort of academic or work engagement makes me restless after 4 months.

So, in a way, this could be seen as an apology. Philadelphia: I’m sorry. I’m sorry I let people trash talk you. I’m sorry I trash talked you. I really do love you, I promise (even if you smell sometimes).

I’m going with five other Americans to Tasmania this weekend. Should be a fun time! I will be sure to write about it in a later post. Until then (to people at home), enjoy THE most needed coming of spring in recent memory.

One thought on “Dear Philadelphia”

  1. Lee, I loved this post!!! Very insightful and humorous at the same time.
    Hope all is well,
    Phuongnhi

Leave a comment